Monstrous Monday: Grippli Zen Monks

This Monday’s monster idea belongs to Charles Oberg, who gave me the idea of the grippli zen monk. However, rather than just creating one monk, I decided to create two. One minion monk that you can use as a horde enemy (or horde ally, considering they’re neutral good), and one big boss enemy as the grandmaster of the monastery.

shaolin_frog_by_d_mac-d5qwqmw
Shaolin Frog by dmac

This is the first that I’ve seen of Gripplis in D&D 5e, though please be sure to point any others out to me in the comments. I designed them after tree frogs. Assumedly, they would be encountered in the jungle, so they have a bonus to Stealth checks, as well as a climb speed and a bonus to jumping and climbing. They are also poisonous, much like the poison dart frog and many of its brethren, and therefore deal poison damage with their unarmed strikes.

I also gave them a nice tongue attack to deal poison damage at a range. I picture them hiding in trees and leaping down on foes after poisoning them with their tongue lash, slapping foes with open hands to deliver poisonous strikes. Fun times.

Here are the statistics for both NPCs.

Grippli Monk

and

Grippli Zen Master

As always, here is the PDF.

Grippli Zen Monks

And remember, if you’d like to get YOUR monster featured on Monstrous Monday, then leave a comment below or send me a message via my Contact Page.

3 thoughts on “Monstrous Monday: Grippli Zen Monks

Add yours

  1. I’ve really been enjoying your blog, working from the most current backwards. After coming across this article, and seeing that no one has pointed it out, gripplis apparently aren’t in 5e. They exist in previous editions and Pathfinder, but they’ve been ousted in favor of bullywugs.

    Like

    1. Bullywugs are the more traditional “frog people” in D&D, but I’ve always viewed grippli as the other side of the same coin. Like in my evolution article, I figure bullywugs and grippli have a common ancestor, and simply evolved to survive in different climates.

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Sterling Vermin Adventuring Co.

Original Content for D&D 5th Edition

Dyson's Dodecahedron

Award Winning Dungeon Design

Monster Manual Sewn From Pants

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

Brandes Stoddard

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

The Kind GM

I'm too kind for my own good...or am I?

The Walking Mind

Mostly about games, but with occasional detours into other nerdy territories.

Sly Flourish

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

of Dice and Dragons

Roll well as there's treasure to be found!

Campaign Mastery

Expert advice on creating and running exceptional campaigns. Winner, Silver Ennie 2016 for Best RPG Blog!

clueless cartography

misadventures in rpg mapping

Marsupialmancer's Laboratory

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

Tribality

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

The Dungeon Dozen

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

Raging Owlbear

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...

They Stalk the Underworld

Kicking Ass, Taking Names, and, well...